slides

So Hee Kim progress_Page_1

My name is So Hee Kim, I am a senior majoring in General Fine Arts with Concentration in Illustration here at (MICA) Maryland Institute College of Art. I was born in South Korea, moved to study in US when I was 14 years old and still here. So, my first language is Korean and my second English. Although I moved to US to study, I did exchange studies in Europe and New Zealand .

That was the first photo collage that I did when I was doing exchange program in Paris last year. That work is important to me because I think that is when

I started to make body of work that reflects on my own Korean culture. That experience helped to to work around limited materials while still producing work that people from diverse cultures could look into.

So Hee Kim progress_Page_2

Since then,  started to make a lot of that resonates with my past childhood memory and reconstructing a scenery.

Some of them are miniatures that I made by hand and large sets are usually designed on Rhino and cut with CNC Router. In my latest life size sets (picture on the right) is mostly constructed with joinery method. It’s almost like packing my memory and reconstructing them in new space, everytime I install them.

So Hee Kim progress_Page_3

I am very inspired by Do Ho Suh and Olafur Eliasson’s works. Do Ho Suh is Korean sculptor and installation artist based in New York

And Olafur Eliasson is a Danish-Icelandic artist known for sculptures and large-scale installation art employing elemental materials such as light, water, and air temperature to enhance the viewer’s experience. They both focus on environment around them and people’s interaction with their works. I appreciate that there are so many different perspective of viewing and interacting with their works.

Drawing from that inspiration, I am incorporating interactive component in the upcoming project. I was observing games such as Twister and Simon game and thinking of how to combine that with my own culture.  I find sense of interaction with touch very fascinating.

 

So Hee Kim progress_Page_4

I am making a round dinner table. Korean family dinners are very important, and it is a time when family shares about their day. In Korean tradition, they put great importance in eating many different colored food. They think that is the way to consume all the nutritions for our body.

This round table as a place where people with diverse backgrounds come together and interact with each other following the given table rules.

The whole table is going to be made with plywood and plexiglass on top.

It is similar to the simon game. Colors on different sections of table are going to be made with neopixels with touch sensors in them.  

Middle circle is where voice speaker programed with arduino is placed which will tell people which colors to touch

When the answers were correct, the light will blink

So Hee Kim progress_Page_5

There are seven rules and they correspond to food rules of what my mother would serve for our family dinner 7 days a week.

We are always eating with each other whether that is food or ideas. It is always important to be aware of given environments and where we are eating.

 

 

Leave a Reply

